Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Nothing Special
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to R6 ownership, like a week new. I know my 2003 Gen2 is fuel injected, which generates this question....

Can a Gen2 be push started if the batt goes dead or goes bad out on the road? I know racers use "bump starters" to crank over full race machines, but those things get the rear wheel spinning pretty fast and produce a good deal of engine RPM. Push starting a bike is a totally different story, would you agree?

I doubt it can be push started. I mean, most FI vehicles are 100% controlled by some sort of ECU or ECM (or everwhat). Those computers normally won't even boot up if they do not see at least around 10.6vdc. Am I somewhere in the ballpark so far with the R6? If so, the likelihood of generating that kind of voltage (as well as the amperage required, these digital bikes draw some big juice) by only push starting the bike is little to none. At least that's been my experience with other FI'd bikes.

So, I've had this idea. With the advent of Lith-Ion batts with their higher power levels and light weight it seems to me one could put together an isolator system that would provide you with a "hot" battery that has enough power to bring the CPU online (therefor spark and fuel pump comes on line as well) and push start the bike. The L-Ion batt could be small enough to remain lightweight but just large enough to supply enough voltage/current to fire up the electronics and allow the engine to be bumped over in the event of a remote failure. The "bump start batt" wouldn't have to be very large at all, and these L-Ion batts are pretty easy to make using L-Ion cells (that's all they are inside of a "bike battery" anyhow, is just a number of 1.6vdc cells all wired together in series/parallel. More cells = more grunt and voltage depending on how you wire them up to each other).