Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive been riding for about 10 months now. I currently go out to the country where they have pretty smooth turnpike like turns and very little cars. I've noticed in the passed few months I have began to feel more confortable leaning the bike. While in a midturn lean I manage to go over a bump. I can only guess as I try to decribe the rear wheel getting air, the bike going upright, and I am going towards the shoulder. I managed to not panic and save it at last minute. Is there any reccomeondations someone would make in terms of identifying bumps on roads? or how to handle situations like this better? I was not using excessive speed but still would like to understand situations such as this and try to better learn from them.

Thanks!

·
Registered
89 Posts
you did the best thing you could do in that situation as it came up yesterday and didn't panic.

as for the recognizing it the best thing you can do is just learn the road if you are on it frequently and memorize. Sometimes a bump will look the same as a flat spot and sneak up on you.

·
When in doubtThrottle out
5,058 Posts
Make sure your suspension is setup properly for you. The best thing that can be done is to have it tuned so your tires maintain good contact.

·
Parts Pimp
26,464 Posts
Make sure your suspension is setup properly for you. The best thing that can be done is to have it tuned so your tires maintain good contact.
:fact

What happened OP? Did the bike kick up on you? check into how rebound should be checked and set.

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

What happened OP? Did the bike kick up on you? check into how rebound should be checked and set.
Yea Anthony, it kicked up and scared the piss out of me. Ruined my entire country ride- I didnt want to lean on the turns after that. Mental concentration disrupted :yuk: