Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
First time R6er
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My brake lever broke, so i was thinking of getting the shorty style on ebay, cause they are cheap, and have good reviews on them. I am new to riding and wondering if the shorties are not good for a beginner and if i should stick to the normal stock levers? Is it harder for a beginner? or is it more of a preference thing?

Heres the ebay ones
http://www.ebay.com/itm/HQ-Brake-Cl...maha|Model:YZF+R1&hash=item20e16e83ed&vxp=mtr

·
Stunt Rider
7,982 Posts
Shipping straight from Hong Kong? Those are legit.

·
First time R6er
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I read some forums on here that said the ebay ones are just as good as long as you use the old O bushing for the new levers

·
Stunt Rider
7,982 Posts
You get what you pay for. Do it!!!

·
track junkie
2,257 Posts
I am new to riding and wondering if the shorties are not good for a beginner and if i should stick to the normal stock levers? Is it harder for a beginner? or is it more of a preference thing?
i would say that your whole bike is not good for a beginner. i don't think the levers are gonna be the deciding factor there.

i like the stock levers; they're cheap, they're abundant and they are a perfect fit. other than that, i'd say it's probably just a preference thing.

but, if you're gonna do this, spend money for a quality part. i'd leave all the crap on ebay alone. most times, you get what you pay for. name brands are what i'd stick with.

check out sportbike track gear's website. send them an email or do a live-chat and tell them what you're looking for. they are great people...

s3aturnr

·
Registered
1,225 Posts
ive spent $250 on ASV's and spent $30 on ebay levers and they do the same fcking job. takes 5 mins to replace. go with ebay

·
Hey...watch this
574 Posts
Go with the shorties. They're perfect. I compromised between cheap and ridiculous and bought PSR controls. Love em.

·
Weeeeeeeeeeeee