Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Get'n Lucky -n- Kentucky
800 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've noticed my clutch doesn't grab until it is almost all the way let out. I can't adjust it any more on the handlebars then what it is already adjusted. Do you all think the Cable is just stretching and i can buy a new cable to fix it? If so is the Cable a pain in the u know what to change.

·
190rwhp......:eek5
10,295 Posts
Could be the cable stretching...also could be your clutch plates wearing thin

and yes, the cable is pretty easy to replace...

·
Get'n Lucky -n- Kentucky
800 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Could you feel the clutches if they were wearing thin? I drag race a lot of fourwheelers and run a lot of rocket clutches and know that if a clutch starts wearing or slipping you can feel it with the pull but i'm just starting to learn my bike a little.

·
iRun
33,317 Posts
You could always adjust your clutch cable tension by turning that little bolt thingy just up the cable from your lever... I bet that fixes everything. You might as well lube the cable while you're at it.

·
Get'n Lucky -n- Kentucky
800 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Sorry u must not have read my original post, i can't adjust it any further on my bars. Thanks for the help though

·
iRun
33,317 Posts
Oh I read the OP, I just thought you meant that you were tweaking your LEVER.. not the actual cable. My bad. I've got nothing for you. :laugh

·
Ya wheelies is garbage!
5,935 Posts
Sorry u must not have read my original post, i can't adjust it any further on my bars. Thanks for the help though
There is a lower adjustment also. It's down near the clutch cover.
Oh I read the OP, I just thought you meant that you were tweaking your LEVER.. not the actual cable. My bad. I've got nothing for you. :laugh