Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Out there riding..
374 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay all, I've been riding over 30 years. Yes, I'm old and slow, but I've got some habits that are very hard to break.

As far as clutchless shifting, you're only doing that UPSHIFTING, right? Having ridden so many bikes in my history I've been blipping the throttle on downshifts for so long I just do it out of habit. Slipper or not, you can count on me blipping!

Now I've been using clutchless upshifts for many years but was just watching some racing on TV and it almost sounds like several riders are not clutching on downshifts, which I figured was impossible. At the track, you're still using the clutch to downshift, right?

Just FYI, it's not the clutch that affects my lap times, it's my old slowness combined with 30 years of bad habits. :)

·
Parts Pimp
26,472 Posts
Okay all, I've been riding over 30 years. Yes, I'm old and slow, but I've got some habits that are very hard to break.

As far as clutchless shifting, you're only doing that UPSHIFTING, right? Having ridden so many bikes in my history I've been blipping the throttle on downshifts for so long I just do it out of habit. Slipper or not, you can count on me blipping!

Now I've been using clutchless upshifts for many years but was just watching some racing on TV and it almost sounds like several riders are not clutching on downshifts, which I figured was impossible. At the track, you're still using the clutch to downshift, right?

Just FYI, it's not the clutch that affects my lap times, it's my old slowness combined with 30 years of bad habits. :)
You can't clutchless downshift. They are just that fast at it bro.

Someone posted a link to a computer that does do this, but it was for cars and not bikes yet.