Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Wannabe motorhead
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
TLDR; is the fuel level sensor in the first picture dead bcause no continuity between the wires in the green connector? and is the neutral switch in the second picture dead because of no continuity between points marked in the third picture?

Im a complete noob at testing electrical things for continuity and that so here's my question:

This is the fuel level sensor. The LED in the display works (it turns on when i turn the key). No fuse is blown. So i figured the sensor is bad.
Manual says test continuity. So put the negative and positive pole on each of the two wires inside the green connector, but no continuity. So i assume its gone bad and needs replacing? Or should i test something else before buying a new one? (It has never worked since i got it btw)

Now for question 2:

This is the neutral switch. My bike got attempted stolen and the wires comming in to the key ignition thingy got cut all at once so the main fuse went bad.
Replaced main fuse, replaced the whole damn ignition circuit (at a workshop) and now the only thing not working is either this sensor or something else, because the neutral N light in the dash does not light up when in neutral and bike dies when kickstand is lowered even while in neutral.

So, once again, manual says to check for continuity on the "neutral switch" which i assume is this thing on the picture. I have no clue how to do that so i placed my leads as shown in the picture below:

No continuity.. ( I also did it vice versa)

Does that mean that this sensor switch thingy is bad and needs replacing? Or is there something else?

I know this is a long post so thanks for reading :p

·
UR B-hind Da 8 Ball
6,380 Posts
On the neutral switch, go from the threads to where the wire plugs in (the end on the bottom in your pic)

·
UR B-hind Da 8 Ball
6,380 Posts