Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Meh
9,250 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had an absolutely awesome day at Streets of Willow yesterday - felt really good on the bike and was pushing hard (for me) and was out there for all but one session - but holy hell am I beat up today. Quads, hips, shoulders, lower back, neck, calves, forearms all have some amount of soreness. I can't imagine signing up for a whole weekend and having to do another full day the way I feel today.

I'm pretty new to the track riding thing. This was my 5th track day, but my first one was the end of this February, all with varying levels of next-day soreness. Today is definitely the worst. I exercise a decent amount, but I'm not super disciplined about it.

Is my sore ass par for the course, or am I in terrible shape and need to start hitting the gym a few more times a week?

·
I gotta ride!
191 Posts
I did 2 days at Willow 2.5, and a 1 day last year. Being sore is a matter of using muscles your not used to using.... If you ride tense, your gonna be hurtting even more. Try to relax a little more on the bike. I ride dirt as well as wakeboard and being sore is just a part of it.... I was taught a while ago, just relax and ride. Hard to do when your banging gears and dragging knees but it does help.

·
Registered
12 Posts
work the quads, man. major component of my and many AMA + SBK + GP riders' workout includes either stationary or road-biking. If you have a road bike, bring it to the track and ride it around to warm up/cool down from a session. Also, bananas & plenty of water will help you stay loose should you run a double-header.

·
TRAVELER
565 Posts
As an "older" guy, I found that core strength will get you a long ways. Streets isn't as bad as the Radical Loop at SMMR in Pahrump, NV. Get some decent cardio but get your core strong and you'll find that the soreness will not be as bad.