Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Track junkie wanna be
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have any info on the 8477 Med+ rear? I bought a spare set of rims last year that had 211s on them from late 2012 and I do not know what compound they are. I am guessing soft since I only got about 60 laps on it before the left side is almost worn out. Jennings is the track I ran them at. The front still has a lot of life left and was just going to replace the rear with the medplus compound if it will handle a few track days. Suspension is well sorted and I am a fast novice that is ready to step up to the next level of tire. Yes I ran warmers, and yes I set the correct pressure.

Anyone have any experience with these?

·
Track junkie wanna be
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Why spend roughly $400 since I would need to replace both tires instead of one at about $180. While I respect the hell out of those that race and ask questions and share, sometimes I prefer first hand experience. I have made decisions based on some of the knowledge shared by them. I have run a lot of street tires, but this is my first set of track day tires even though they are of an older compound. That is why I am asking about the newer compound.

·
"The Dude abides .. "
4,719 Posts
Why spend roughly $400 since I would need to replace both tires instead of one at about $180. While I respect the hell out of those that race and ask questions and share, sometimes I prefer first hand experience. I have made decisions based on some of the knowledge shared by them. I have run a lot of street tires, but this is my first set of track day tires even though they are of an older compound. That is why I am asking about the newer compound.