Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so I was going to work this morning and I was behind this f-150 who brake pretty quick. I was going about 60 and I reacted by applying the front brake and rear and the clutch was engage (I'm pretty sure of it) I fished tail but manage to control the bike (which means that my rear locked) I pulled over to the left shoulder and noticed my bike engine has stalled.

This is a 2003 R6, I'm really new to riding this type of bikes, my last was ex500 and sv650.

What casued my rear to lockup and my engine to die like that?

·
Registered
1,333 Posts
You probably hit the rear brake too hard and caused it to lock up. Or you may have pressed down on the shifter during your sudden reaction without realizing it, causing you to do some heavy engine braking which can lock up the rear wheel.

But if you left the clutch engaged and you were were going 60 and stayed in gear, it caused you to drop the rpm's too low to keep the motor running, which will stall it.

It's no different in the ex or sv..

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You probably hit the rear brake too hard and caused it to lock up. Or you may have pressed down on the shifter during your sudden reaction without realizing it, causing you to do some heavy engine braking which can lock up the rear wheel.

But if you left the clutch engaged and you were were going 60 and stayed in gear, it caused you to drop the rpm's too low to keep the motor running, which will stall it.

It's no different in the ex or sv..
Understand the first part, the second part... if I left the clutch engaged (held in) and I was in 3 gear & braked, how would that stall the engine?

Sorry just trying to figure out the mechanics of things.

·
R Sexiness
1,139 Posts