Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title says? Im buying my first bike today so im a newb and not sure exactly how it should go. All advice is welcome!!

·
Born 2 Ride YAMAHA
788 Posts
He should have the title when you pay for it and pick the bike up. I'm not sure how it works in other states but in Wisconsin you have to fill out the back of the title with the purchase price and both of your signature's. Also check the title to make sure it doesn't say SALVAGED.

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
No it does not need to be notarized. Also, make sure that there are no liens against the title, meaning he/she does not still owe money on it to a bank. If there are liens then the seller must pay off the lien before he/she can legally sell you the bike.

·
r6less
33 Posts
Signatures should not have to be notorized, i only have experience with wisconsin laws but i doubt they have to be notorized.

Just make sure you can look over the title before you hand him the money and look for any leins on the bike(he has a loan on the bike that is not paid off) or a salvaged title or something else weird he hasnt already told you about. Then have him sign it, give him the money tell him to count it if he doesnt already and take the title and the bike.

·
Registered
313 Posts
I don't see how the owner would even have the title if there are leins against it...Normally the bank requires possession of the title to put the lein on it. If he needs to pay a bank off to give it to you then I recommend writing a basic contract and bill of sale stating that he will give the title to you once it is given to him and in the meantime you get the bike, the keys, and the registration. You will have all the paperwork needed to prove the title is yours at that point.

·
I whore my R6
1,874 Posts