Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I will be doing my first track day this season at Grattan Raceway in Mi. I was looking for some tips or pointers to help me out. Ive been riding my R6 for a few years now and riding motorcycles for quite some time. Obviously this doesn't mean I'm awesome (because I am not :fact ) I was just seeking out some tips from the community. Thanks a lot guys!

·
Official Noob Greeter
55,814 Posts
And do the sighting laps. And take it easy, live to fight another day.

·
Outlaws Justice was Here
36 Posts
Take a class first. I did my first track day in 2006 in N.H. , three weeks after taking the Total Control Class in NY. Was the best thing I ever did, I was on the track with a little 500 ninja (Smallest bike there) never been to a track before, and I had a ball, I was passing everyone on the track pretty much, since I did not have to spend time learning how to get proper body position, how to choose good lines. etc. I could focus on learning the track, brake points, etc. I actually got a racing license that weekend just to get the extra track time.

My Second Track day in 2009 at Pocono, making an outside pass on an r-6 with the little 1984 Honda 500!

·
Pastor of Muppets
1,459 Posts
All of those ^

Have fun. Work with, and listen to, the Control Riders. You can learn a lot about both the track and your riding. Start saving more money now...

·
Official Noob Greeter
55,814 Posts
Take a shit before you put your suit on in the AM or you end up dropping your cuffs in the piss that is all over the floor.

·
Mr. HER6
2,084 Posts
First, realize that you've got all day to ride. You will get faster and more comfortable as the day goes on. Let that happen as it comes, no need to rush things.

Ride at whatever pace is comfortable to you, don't worry about what anyone else is doing. You're in the beginner group, so chances are that they're doing it wrong anyway. :laugh