Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so for my 30th birthday a friend and I will be doing a track day at California Speedway on March 30th. I am pretty excited and nervous at the same time. I will be takin my 07 R6. I have been riding for just under 10 years and started with a bandit 600, then went to an FZR600r, and now the
R6. I have ridden some local canyon roads pretty aggressively and have had some close calls with idiot motorists. Luckily I have never went down. What experiences have any of you had with track days? What are the chances of going down? What should I expect? I know the bike is made for the track. Any tips or pointers? I hope this doesn't turn into an addiction.

·
CARS SUCK
138 Posts
Congrtatulations:YEA
I like your careful progression with your bikes. If you are
as cautious on the track as you have been on the street, you will
do fine. On average, there are over half a dozen bikes that go down at Cali Speedway each day. It's happened to me. The key to bringing home your bike as shiny as it went to trackday is between the ears. Never ride over your head. If you catch yourself grabbing at the controls before a corner, or things are coming at you too fast, back it off a notch. You will be going much faster at the end of the day if you take your time and don't force going fast early. The speed will come if you are relaxed.

Expect to be nervous. Expect to go faster than you ever have.
Expect to be addicted. :werd

The one thing I did before I got on a track that helped was I
bought the book "Twist of the Wrist Volume II" be Keith Code. It helped me learn how to be smooth and described the proper technique to get a knee down. Thats the best advice I have.
March 29th at Cali Speedway will be my 10th trackday, and I am on my way to the advanced group!
HAVE FUN!!!!!!!

·
Track Junkie
334 Posts
Good luck with not getting addicted :)