Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Jennings rocks!
1,434 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I have three trackdays under my belt, and my brother has one. We both have been thinking for a while now that we want to get into trackdays more often, and get a little more serious about it.

We both ride shiney new ZX6rs that we do not want to take to the track. Instead were throwing roughly (combined) $700/month for a designated trackbike. Were thinking of getting one for around $3-4k.

So far were compiling a list of what we need. We both have full leathers so were good on that. We need some helpful hints on what else we should get.

I know racebikes require a certain degree of maintenance, but thats not a problem. I work maintenance for a living.

Were just looking to get started, and want to get pointed in the right direction.

By the way, our next trackday will most likely be a track school.

·
Custom User Title
1,824 Posts
do a ton more track days

get as much instruction as you can. you REALLY should do a school, or 3 or 4. if its you in the avatar you need a lot. (not trying to be mean, but your body position is quite off)

when you buy a track bike, buy spares as much as possible, you can never have too many. depending on what organization you are goint to race with you will need to safety wire your motorcycle among other things. you are goint to have to research the requirments for the area/groups.

plus most race organizaters also require you hae a Race license, and you will have to aquire that. around here (AFM, records show its the fastest amatuer races/racers in the country), it costs around 10K a year after purchasing the motorcycle to make every race in the season. i think its about 4 or 6 races. im sure its much less the less you want to race.

·
Jennings rocks!
1,434 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·