Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
302 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
tldr - do i keep my bike and convert it to track only or do i sell street bike and buy track bike with mods?
--------------------------------------------------------------------

I am considering converting my 04 to a full time track bike.

There are two options that I am looking at: 1) keep current bike and put on race fairings. 2) sell street bike, buy track bike with mods.

My guess is that I can get a nice track bike for the price of my street bike. The downside is that I have to wait to find a bike within my budget and may be without a bike for a while. I am looking at getting an 03-05 so I can keep learning and fix her up for cheap in case of crashes.

Obviously getting a bike with a bunch of mods would be better than stock, but since this is my first year at the track I am okay using stock suspension for now. This way I would avoid having to buy a bike, sell a bike, and all the risks that go along with buying a used track bike (what condition is motor really in, title issues, etc.).

thanks for reading and let me know what you think!:toocool:

·
AFM #327
15,209 Posts
If you can run your bike as it is with just race fairings on, then yeah, keep the bike and run it as it is.

If you want goodies on the bike, then sell the street bike and buy a used 2nd gen R6 all tricked out for the track for about the same price as your street bike.

I'm guessing you would be able to sell yours for ~$3500-4000 or so, that should buy you a decent track bike. No point is spending 2-3 grand additional to your street bike to get it upto date (suspension, damper, fairings etc).

·
Track Only!
1,550 Posts
If you can run your bike as it is with just race fairings on, then yeah, keep the bike and run it as it is.

If you want goodies on the bike, then sell the street bike and buy a used 2nd gen R6 all tricked out for the track for about the same price as your street bike.