Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello, I'm new to bikes and I am having a problem with my 1999 Yamaha R6.

After riding dirt bikes I made the switch to a street bike.

While I was riding the R6, I got into an accident going very slowly in first gear. I under steered a turn and hit a curb, laying the old bike down. I stood the bike back up and when I tried to turn it back on, I had no electrical power. The headlights, gauges, electric start, nothing would turn on when I turned the key to the "on" position.

After turning the key to "on", literally there is no response from the bike of any kind. It's the same as the "off" position now. Hitting the electric start from "on" makes no noise at all.

I checked the battery; it has charge.
I checked all of the fuses I could find in the tail and under the seat; they all looked good.
The bike isn't leaking anything.

My buddy, who saw it happen, said that the bike revved very high when it went down before shutting off on its own. It shut off before I had a chance to kill switch it and stand it back up.

My question is; what could've happened? Is it possible that I blew a relay somewhere? Possibly the starter relay? What would cause the bike to have no electrical power at all to the headlights, gauges, and electric start?

Thanks in advance for any help. I'd appreciate any advice in figuring out how to correct this.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks, ChiefSmokeDawg. I checked again and you were right, I blew one of the 30 amp fuses by the battery. When I tried to replace it, the new fuse immediately blew. The key was turned to "locked".

I tried again with the battery disconnected and I blew the fuse again as soon as the battery was re-connected. What does that mean? Do I need to check the electrical circuit? What should I look for?

Thanks again in advance.

·
Parts Pimp
26,470 Posts