Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
1st Gens Unite!
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm pretty new to riding sportbikes so dont give me too much of a hard time. I was curious since our bikes are happy in that 10-12 thousand rpm range, how fast or how long should you ride in first gear, second gear, and so on?

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Motorcycle App

·
1st Gens Unite!
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I usually keep mine around 8-10 thousand rpm. The reason I asked is because A guy at the dealership told me that the newer bikes can get to 80-100 mph in first and i kinda dont believe him.

·
Registered
448 Posts
I usually keep mine around 8-10 thousand rpm. The reason I asked is because A guy at the dealership told me that the newer bikes can get to 80-100 mph in first and i kinda dont believe him.

All depends on how your bike is geared. Twist the throttle in first until you hit redline, that's how fast you can go in first. But be careful, it will pick up the front wheel at wide open throttle in first.

·
www.1seven1.com
2,064 Posts
As long as you can stand the sound of you flogging your motor. :D

For max speed, what TKB said. Redline in first gear is your max speed in first. Not much reason to *hold* a constant speed at high RPM. 6-8k rpm is great for holding a constant speed, then downshift if you need to pass or pick up the pace.

In most cases the higher the RPM the harder it is to hold a smooth, constant throttle.

·
Parts Pimp
26,472 Posts

with stock gearing the newer R6 does like 85 or something stoopid like that in 1st at 16.5K.. On the 1st gen, if you rev up past 8k under normal everyday riding, you're gonna have a rough ride. Plus, if you rev 1st high, 2nd gear shift on that bike isn't too smooth. Shift around 6k or so in 1st to 2nd in town. If you're opening that shit up to take off, wind it up as high as you'd like.

·
track junkie
2,257 Posts