Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Like the tittle says, I'm very new to riding sports bikes and I would like to make out to the track with other noob riders so I can learn more about my bike, the leaning, braking and all of that in a controlled area, I have had the bike for a little over a month and have put around 1500 miles on it. Should I wait a little longer and the go?

·
Premium Member
2,901 Posts
Don't wait...just go. You will learn more about the bike and riding than you would on the street by yourself. Just be prepared to never want to ride on the street again haha

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks a lot for the info guys, the bike will go to Marrieta motorsports to get new sprockets, chain and a much needed valve adjustment. Going to get the jeep and trailer ready for a trip to the track soon.

·
Meh
9,250 Posts
If you're at the point where you can do all the basic operations (throttle, shifting, braking turning) without having to really think about it, I'd say you're good to go for some track time.

·
pin it to win it
8,080 Posts
Thanks a lot for the info guys, the bike will go to Marrieta motorsports to get new sprockets, chain and a much needed valve adjustment. Going to get the jeep and trailer ready for a trip to the track soon.
Marietta motorsports is a
great place. Tell huey to feel better lol

Jennings GP has a pretty decent Novice day.

http://www.jenningsgp.com/trackschool.htm

Its 4.5hrs south of ya but worth its inexpensive cost. Prep is minimal and the class sized is limited. The staff has extensive experience.
Totally worth it. I did it back in May and only 4 riders showed up. Lots of on track time and instruction. It helped drop my times a lot.
Ed bargy, same guy, also does the novice school at lil tally