Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just like the title says, I'm curious how long all you guys who ride on the track have been riding. Not just on the track but all together. And how long did it take you to get to the track after starting to ride

·
I AM CORNHOLIO!
418 Posts
rode for about 2 years on the street, then finally got on track. been 12 years now and I'm a Control Rider for a track day org here in the southeast. still ride street occasionally, but not nearly as much.

·
Meh
9,250 Posts
Been riding since somewhere around September 2002 - so ... fcuk, 13 years now. Been riding track around 5 years? Wish I had the good sense to get to the track much sooner, but then again, I'd probably be bankrupt if I got the addiction in my early 20s.

·
Yamaha 4 Life
514 Posts
I think I rode on the street for a year or two, and when I started riding like a squid and pushing the limits, I hit the track.

Have never looked back and have since sold my street bike and now only ride track.

·
Mr. HER6
2,084 Posts
I rode street only for 6 years, then street and occasional track days for 6 years, and pretty much track only for the past 3 years.

·
07 Blue R6
222 Posts
I got my bike in Oct 2013. First track day was April 22 2014. My R6 was my first motorcycle and I got it when I was 19. I'm now 20, and I'm finishing my second year at the track and I've spent more money than you could imagine someone my age could. Done about 40 track days or more within these 2 years. After my second track day I've never ridden on the street again. I don't plan on it either. I have a car and that gets me from point A to B just fine.

·
Horsepower Whisperer
617 Posts
I rode for 40 years before the track. Learned more the 1st day at the track than in the previous 40.
Amen.