Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i put my 6 down back in may. i was only doing like 25 - 30 mph so i didn't get hurt and my bike was pretty much all set except for the clip-on. so here it is october my chicken strips are like an inch or so, i've been tryin like hell to get over the feeling of going down, but every time i come to a corner i kinda freeze up and slow down, any advice or techniques would be greatly appreciated thanks, Brian

·
Registered
784 Posts
R6rider04, I went down pretty hard core in Sept of 03. Bitch pulled out in front of me, long story. Anyway, roadrashed up pretty good, broken collarbone that now has a 6" titanium plate and 8 screws, $6800 damage to my bike (ins. co. paid to fix it instead of totalling it). After the bike and I were put back together when I started riding again I couldn't even enjoy myself like I did before. It almost seemed like every cage out there was TRYING to pullout in front of me. That's when I started riding with my high beams on, invested in some really good riding gear and listened to some advice from a fellow rider. This fellow rider has been riding for 20+ years and told me that the best way he found to get over a wreck was to start with the fundamentals and work your way through them again. Sounded like stuff for a newbie to me, but I tried it. And it worked. When I first got on my bike after the wreck, I had atleast an inch of chicken strips on each side, now there is close to nothing. It just takes time in getting comfortable with the feel of your bike again. Might take a look at these two links:

http://www.motorcyclesafety.state.mn.us/pages/tips_pages/tips_cornering.html

http://www.brunch.dk/~niels/html/mc_20_highe.html

Good luck and happy riding!

·
Registered
524 Posts
1. Sorry to hear about your wreck.
2. Glad to hear you were OK.