Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
408 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi people.

I have been riding for about 5 years or so now. During that time i have had GSXR's and Yamahas and have really enjoyed thrashing bikes. I had an 08 R1 and used to rip into it and had heaps of confidence in the bike and the road.

In Feb this year i highsided from my 09 FZ1 N and ended up with an 09 R6. I didnt enjoy the sports touring riding feeling of the FZ1 and was planning on selling it for an R6.

I have only done about 2000kms on the R6 and most of that was done on the annual Phillip island pilgramage. On the ride we rode in snow, ice, fog, rain and sun. However even after surviving that, i still have zero confidence compared to pre-crash!

Does anyone have any suggestions for how to overcome this 'fear' of crashing again?? I find myself thinking of the road surface, looking for potholes, cracks in the road, or other hazards that might throw me off.

If you have crashed, how did you overcome this? Surely i am not the only one who has been slowed down because of an accident.

cheers Matt

·
off roadin' GARDEN SLAYA!
904 Posts
Seat time. I was hit by car earlier this year and it has definitely slowed me down but everyday I ride I get a bit more confidence back.

·
R6'ers B4 Gixxers
367 Posts
I agree! You've got to get back on the bike and ride. I dropped my 650R earlier this year on a low speed corner involving gravel. I was pretty damn scared to ride again, but I went ahead and picked up my 6 and got back on the road.

My accident sure as hell made me more aware of my surroundings and that will never change. I too pay more attention to the road condition, but I think that is just a natural reaction for anyone.

Bottom line, you got to get back on that horse and ride again! The confidence will come back!

·
NCSportbikes.com
701 Posts