Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I got a Honda shadow 750 for free a few months back, it didn't run. So I fixed it and got my license. I did enjoy that bike a lot more than I thought I would
but I've had wet dreams about squids my whole life.
So I found someone online who had a 2002 R6 with 39k miles who agreed to do an even trade. My 2007 shadow with 33k miles and no papers for his R6 with a clean title.
I went to his place and test rode it. Within a few seconds of WOT I was already gliding down a residential street at speeds my old Honda couldn't hit going downhill. That's all I needed to see to finish the trade.
It's my first time ever riding a sportbike, only thing I've ever rode was the Honda. I'm sure you can imagine the smile on my face, the sudden rush of blood to my nethers, and the beautiful terror in my eyes when I brought it past 8k rpm.
My question is, what should I look out for on these bikes? I've heard about the stator and 2nd gear issues, and he recently had the valves adjusted and a full service & brand new tires.
Are these bikes supposed to vibrate a bit? I feel like mine vibrates a lot but I'm just used to the shadow so idk if that's normal. Im having trouble believing I got this bike for my shadow, something has got to be wrong with it?? Should I expect it to stop working anytime soon given the milage? Idk how long these engines can last.
Also, what is the operating temperature range? He didn't have the owners manual. Highest I've seen it go is 215 F in stop and go traffic for a while on a very hot day; it stays around 180F when moving.
Thanks
Tire Wheel Sky Plant Vehicle

Attachments

·
Registered
43 Posts
Welcome to the brotherhood lol. So it seems like its hot but the thermostat is set between 210-220 as long as you say under 225 your fine. As long as your 02 is like my 03 that is….