Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im 18 and im thinking of buying a new R6 in the fall, before i buy it i want to do the MSF. My question is, is it a smart think to buy new for a first bike. I have lots of motorcyle riding expirence, but not streetbike. Ive been racing motocross for 6 years. ive even one a few races, and even almost mastered a weelie on a Kx 125 dirtbike.

I also have a squeaky clean driving record, and im going to look into insurance for the motorcycle before i buy it becasue i herd it could be expensive. Im pretty shure i can handle it, i would just feel more comftorable with someone elses opinion. thanks for your time

Oh yes I will be a new member of the motorcycle world, oh yes...

·
Banned
4,021 Posts
i also have rode dirtbikes since i was a wee one and i bought the R6 as my first street bike. i think with the knowledge you will get about street riding from the MSF course and your ability to actually ride a motorcycle pretty well would make the R6 a good bike for you. but i will warn you, the R6 has a bunch more power then your dirtbikes do and will still take some gettin used to. so just take it a little slower then you think you should and get used to the way the bike handles cause it to is completely different then your dirtbike :cheers

oh ya and post a pic when you get one :mrgreen:

·
IQ = Post Count
1,734 Posts
I also took the leap from dirt to street. My '04 R6 is my first street bike. To be honest, all I did is look at all the sportbike 600cc's available (because I didn't want a 1L) and I picked the R6 purely on looks, although that Kawi 6R in the silver looks pretty tight. For some reason I'm just not a fan of the undertail exhaust (cross off the CBR) and Suzuki just can't get a color scheme down that doesn't make me want to vomit.

·
Registered
277 Posts