Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, here is my situation. I'm installing straight pipe exhaust... but... then, I am going all out with a turbo and I am a certified Technician in the Automotive field.
Now, I plan to keep my O2 sensor but I have to question the EX-UP servo. At first my thought was to custom fabricate the EX-UP servo into the system just to keep everything proper... and... I also know that a turbo is designed for forced induction and it applies a great deal of horse power. But, if I'm not mistaken... a part of its design consist of exhaust back pressure. Many little things here and there are needed in order for the turbo to work at maximum efficiency.
This bike means the world to me and the last thing I want to do... is upgrade on her for something bigger and faster when I know she is capable of the impossible...........
I'm not a somebody who can afford to make any mistakes. If I blow her heart up... she can not be replaced.
What do I do? Where do I go with this? If your thought is to just give up... You're talking to the wrong person. I AM... AND WILL accomplish this. But, I want everything perfect. No DTC's.... and no mistakes. I have damn near half a life-time to get it done. So therefore I am in no rush. I am very inclined when it comes to engineering. So, if I have to sit and do all the math to figure this out... that's fine. But, I can't afford the degree in such a subject.
So, I guess what I'm asking... what route do I take? Even if you point me in the direction where all seems well and DTC's are present. It's okay. I have all the time to solve it... I just don't have too much time to get the ball rolling. I mean... do I play it safe? And just pull it from the system and go from there? Or do I attempt to fabricate it into its proper place? And how does a turbo respond to exhaust back pressure?