Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, i finally ditched the "quiet" R6 status and got a full system. However, i read a variety of different opinions and am stuck on a conclusion; Will i need a Jet Kit no matter what since i have a full system? I am going to buy one anyway, but i was curious. Finally, if i ride it for like 20 minutes will this lean/rich issue affect my pistons severly? I am almost 100% positive it is rich cuz its boggy a little bit till i hit like 7-8k. My buddy says no matter what, i am going to burn a hole in my piston if i keep riding it like i do. Is this for real? I am a newbie to most internal components, but i understand the bare essentials. Thanks for the help.

Toomuchskillz

·
Registered
329 Posts
An open race system will always lean out a bike no matter what (unless it's a clever bike like teh TL1000 that compensates automatically) but that does not mean it will damage the bike. It's a question of how lean and therefore how hot it gets...

And sorry to say there is no clear rule for the R6 - some have probs and some dont but your best bet is to take it to a dealer and have them check if you're worried or just go for broke and jet it up

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
If it is real lean, the bog you are getting could be cause of it. You could have plug pilot jets, and or out of adjustment.

You can defintly melt some metal in your engine, or cause damage from detonation if it runs too hot from being lean.

jet it!

·
Registered
1,613 Posts
How can you tell if you are running lean (or rich for that matter)?

Also, when I bought my bike it had a jet kit (still does I guess) and a stock exhaust. Can this setup do any damage??

I just got a slip-on, but i ran it that way for like 10000miles or so...

·
flyin' hawaiian
2,812 Posts