Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased a 2001 r6, red and black i love it. I am not sure of the complete history of the bike, but it looks to be lowered. My roommate has an 02' r6 and his sits a lot higher than mine. I have ridden with a few other guys and theirs all seem to sit a lot higher. How can i look and see if it has been lowered? I looked at the settings of the rear shock compared to my roommates and they are the same but it looks to be lowered at least a few inches. Height isnt an issue i am 6'3, but i would like it to be where it should be. I am just learning how to ride for the most part so i havent driven it real hard into corners but i am sure there is a huge handling loss to where it should be. Any help would be great. I will try to post a pic of it but i dont have any close shots of it. Thanks

·
IQ = Post Count
1,734 Posts
fairlady said:
My roommate has an 02' r6 and his sits a lot higher than mine.
What do you mean by this? Did you take some measurements to see what part of the bike is lower, or does it just feel lower? I'm not too sure how people lower the back (new shock?), but it seems to be pretty common to drop the triple clamps on the forks for the front.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I dont know if i am using the correct terms, but on the top of the shock the perch turns,above the spring, and they are set on the same, 2 out from max. I am new to all of this i appologize im sure i am confusing you. Looking at the bikes standing them straight up, the tail of mine sits a considerable amount lower than his. He recently had his serviced so i know his settings on his suspension is stock. They ride fairly similar, mine is a fair amount stiffer, but the overall look from the back mine sits lower. any thoughts?

·
IQ = Post Count
1,734 Posts
fairlady said: