Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
517 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am lowering my bike. My question is....will lowering links lower the whole bike, or will I need to do something to the front as well? I don't mena to sound stupid or anything, it's just that I am new at foolig around with my suspension. Any input would be most appreciated! Thanks again!

·
Banned
660 Posts
youd probably have to lower the front as well...not sure though but i read a couple of threads and it seemed that people who were putting links on were also lowering their front end...but again me not sure. bout takin to a shop maybe?? how much are you lowering it to??

I am lowering my bike. My question is....will lowering links lower the whole bike, or will I need to do something to the front as well? I don't mena to sound stupid or anything, it's just that I am new at foolig around with my suspension. Any input would be most appreciated! Thanks again!

·
Registered
82 Posts
Yes you have to lower the front end, or the back will be sagging and the front will be high. To lower the front, the easy way out is to push the fork tubes up. I've never experienced the other way, but I guess you can disassemble the forks and cut the springs? Also, when you lower your bike you might have to cut the kickstand, or buy an adjustable kickstand. I've figured out however many inches you lower your bike, divide that in half and cut the kickstand by that much. For example if you lower your bike 3 inches front and rear, you have to cut the kickstand an inch and a half. I don't think it's critical to cut the kickstand if you are only lowering it an inch. If it doesn't lean enough I would.

·
Registered
68 Posts