Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
hey im kind of new to riding. I got my 07 r6 right before the beginning of the summer of last year. so ive technically only had 1 season of riding under my belt so far. anyway...my wrists start to throb in pain about an hour of riding and eventually becomes unbearable. Bad enough that my clutch hand eventually goes numb and i cant pull the clutch. it feels like i have too much weight on my wrists due to the positioning of the bike. is there anything i can do to make my bike a tad more comfortable? Its only my bike too. when i ride my buddies 07 cbr im fine. his bike is lowered in the back where as mine is stock height for now. i dont do wheelies or stunt or anything like that. just cruise the highways and country roads.

·
drag some knee
494 Posts
i got mine about the same time you did, and at first my hands would go to sleep bc i would sqeeze the tar out of mt grips but id say the thing that helped me the most was gaining experience and learning to relax.. and the more i rode the better it got.. this is my first crotch rocket i grew up with dirt bikes and four wheelers and never noticed the numbness i had got when rideing my r6 but with time its all went away

oh and what made mine feel better i lowered my levers down, felt way better for me

·
Nut 'N Bitch
1,736 Posts
Hold on with your knees a little more and a little less of your hands. keep your hands moving and the blood flowing....do wheelies ;)

·
Track Day Junkie
594 Posts
Its in your body position. Im 6'4 and my hands have never gone numb and ive ridden 300+ miles in a day on my 6. Like ^^ said use your knees more as well as your back and abbs to take some of the weight off your writs. Also dont give the bars a death grip, that will help as well.