Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently had the engine on my 04 r6 apart to replace the output shaft and ended up lapping one of the intake valves after I found out it was leaking. Got it all back together and had to reshim the valve that I lapped, so all valve clearances were ok. Cam timing looked perfect before I put the valve cover on. The bike runs but it seems like cylinders 3 and 4 are misfiring. The headers do still get hot for those cylinders but not nearly as hot as cylinders 1 and 2. Tried swapping the coils with the coils from cylinder 1/2 with no luck so I doubt its a coil issue. Has brand new plugs, CR10EK which is what it had before I took the motor apart. Could the fuel injectors be clogged from sitting so long without any fuel in them? The bike has a new air filter too so I know it’s not that. Above 3k-ish rpm it sounds fine but below that sounds like a Harley. I have a lot of experience working on bikes but just can’t figure this out any help would be appreciated. Bike ran great before I took it all apart. The bike also has Mitsubishi coils, not the recalled denso ones.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Throttle bodies synced?
Each cylinder registers within a percentage of each other with compression testing?
Haven’t compression tested it yet I’ll do that soon, I don’t see why the compression would be any lower when it used to run good though. Valves are in spec and I made sure all the valves seal before I put the head back on so I don’t see any reason for compression loss. I’ll test it to be sure tho I’ll pick up a compression tester tomorrow

·
Registered
43 Posts
Sometimes I forget to start simple. Pull the plugs to see if they got fouled or dirty, also check gap because if the gap is off or tips bent slightly they can miss

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·