Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just came across this document from a fellow motorcycle rider. Has anyone heard about this kind of thing for the Army, Air Force or Marines? (God, I hope not)

·
Registered
1,017 Posts
This came across my desk about 2 months ago..... I have yet to take the course...

·
Yamaha Blue in any color
3,254 Posts
The Marine Corps is instituting the same.

·
U.S. Marine
1,099 Posts
yea same for Marines. I have to say this is "bunk", but there are still those 19-yr old tough guys that go out and get themselves killed by doing stupid shit and everyone has to pay for it.

·
Registered
238 Posts
I am a 8-yr AF Vet and now DOD Army Civilian working on an AF base...from what I am told I know the every 3 year requirement may become reality for AF, not sure about the Sportbike only course though...Matter of fact I just had the Wing Ground Safety rep that coordinate all the MSF onbase course tell me that I should retake ERC because the change is near.

The bad thing is the state of IL doesn't recognize the Base courses...a beginner doing the BRC on base would have to take the road test or retake the ILDOT MSF. This comes straight from the DMV....

Luckily I already have my "M" endorsment and took the ERC back in 2001. But, sucks for new riders on base, as one is needed to before being allowed to ride on base.

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
Yeah Army too. The Fort where I work says that you have to have taken and passed the MSF course before you can get decals to ride on post.

·
Registered
394 Posts
Sportbike Rider Course (SRC) is required to ride in Air Mobility Command (Air Force). Some smart guy came up with the concept at Dover AFB, and it was instituted command wide. The Air Force is beginning to institute it everywhere, and other services are doing the same.