Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I graduated today! We had to ride in the rain for 4 hours but it was worth it. The MSF Basic Rider Course is worth it to any new riders out there. If you have never ridden or have very little experience I recommend it highly. If you plan on using your bike at the track or have track experience, then track days will be a much better use of your $$. I'm in VA and I know here and in a lot of other states if you do not have a license/permit or even a bike you can use this course to get your license. Upon successful completion today I received a card stating that I completed the course which most insurance companies offer discounts for and I got a 30 day temp license that allows me to go to the DMV and skip the knowledge and practical tests to get my "M" endorsement. I have been riding my R6 for a few months on my permit and have just over 600 miles on it before I took the class (I did have a bike previous that I put about 1000 miles on but had to sell it to move here 3 years ago). It was easy with what I already learned but I still learned some useful skills. If anyone has questions feel free to ask. :party

·
I miss the 600cc fun.
219 Posts
250 if your over 21 and i think its 150 or 175 for ages 20 and under for the basic course, I took it and it was well worth the money for me!

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Mine was $150 and I'm 27 so it just varies by location. MSF doesn't set a price so the training area can charge what they want.

·
Registered
61 Posts
wow this sounds like a good course, only 250$ to learn some good skills and you get your endorsement upon completion. Did you say you don't even need your learning permit first?

·
Oorah!
1,140 Posts