Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
I roll with Wanderlei
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an 09 R6 that I recently started riding around my neighborhood. The reason I'm making this thread is because when I ride around and bring the bike into the garage, I sometimes smell strange odors coming from the exhaust. The two main smells are burnt rubber and burnt oil/gasoline.

Are these smells normal? Is the burnt rubber smell coming from a new exhaust? Currently, my bike has less than 10 miles on the odometer. I figure it's a good idea to ask now before I ride it anymore.

Just so you guys know, this is my first motorcycle, ever. I don't know what smells and sounds are normal because I have nothing to compare them too.

What do you guys think? Is this normal or do I have a cause for concern?

·
Registered
52,007 Posts
New bikes are typically sprayed with Cosmoline (or similar), a rust preventative used for (largely salt water) protection as the bike makes it's way across the Pacific in its shipping container. Short of using a product like S100 and thoroughly cleaning your bike, you won't be able to prevent the smell. It will go away in time... like the new car smell, think of it like your new bike smell.

·
Premium Member
20,431 Posts
New bikes are typically sprayed with Cosmoline (or similar), a rust preventative used for (largely salt water) protection as the bike makes it's way across the Pacific in its shipping container. Short of using a product like S100 and thoroughly cleaning your bike, you won't be able to prevent the smell. It will go away in time... like the new car smell, think of it like your new bike smell.
+1
It's normal

·
Ya wheelies is garbage!
5,935 Posts
If yo shit been shankin' maybe it's got the clap...? Might get a Dr. to check it out.:lmao

Seriously though you might even be smelling the muffler breaking in as well.

·
I roll with Wanderlei
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
+1
It's normal