Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I dunno what it is, but I dont seem to be improving. Kinda keeping constant slow speed through corners. I get a little bit better on the track but im still basically at the very back of the slow group. I seem to always let of the throttle during the corner. Something always never feels right. especially on publics roads, either I dont trust me or the tyres to go faster. Im generally onl about 10-20km/h over the recommended corner speed signs. I especially have trouble with slow corners

Ive been riding for two years and my tyres have done two track days but still have plenty of tread left.

·
Pastor of Muppets
1,459 Posts
Most of it is probably in your head. Rolling off the throttle mid turn is one of the worst things you can do. It will upset the suspension and make you feel even less in control. You should buy Keith Code's Twist of the Wrist II and read it cover to cover. Don't worry about being slow or fast, worry about being smooth, confident and in control.

Combined with reading that, you should evaluate your tire pressures and suspension set up. Having tire pressures that are way off or suspension that is not compliant will really degrade the performance of the bike and will contribute to you not being comfortable on the bike.

·
nom nom nom nom nom nom
1,251 Posts
Find an instructor who you can work with, and spend whatever it time/money takes to be comfortable. Don't rush yourself or compare your speeds with others. Everyone is different. I'd rather ride with someone slow who was predictable and comfortable with their speed, vs someone riding over their head trying to prove something to themselves or anyone else.