Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Vroom Vroom!
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody! I am completely new at this, so forgive me as I am still confused on how to work this forum, it's the first forum I've ever used! :nocontrol So here is the deal, I am looking for a new bike. Obviously I want an R6, I currently own a 1999 cbr f4. It was my first bike. The thing is roughhhh hahaha. I didn't care about the looks obviously because it was my first bike and I just wanted to ride. However I'm undecided on which year of the brutally beautiful R6 to get. I've heard the 08 is the best!?!? So I was hoping you guys could give me some information and some input on the best year of the R6, and why it's the best year. :) Thank you everybody, and ride safe! :YEA

·
I eat what my R6 cooks!
2,498 Posts
The "best" bike is so subjective that you really won't get a straight answer. Personally, I think the 05 was the best model. It has more low end grunt and better ergonomics than any of the 3rd gen bikes, which makes it a blast for the streets. The downside is that it isn't as great at the track as the 3rd gens. On the same token, unless you do trackdays a lot, you will probably never come close to using the full abilities of either one. If you plan on doing trackdays, I would suggest an 08+. It has better mid-range than the 06/07 models, while being a beast on the track. If you plan on riding street, I would suggest the 2nd gen(03/04 being good, 05 got better brakes and suspension, and then the 06-09 R6S model is the same as the 03/04). I just find it a lot more comfortable to ride than the 3rd gen.

·
Vroom Vroom!
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·