Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Happy go Lucky Guy
396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

Thank you for your assistance, I just acquired a 2007 R6 with 2208 miles,

few questions, when should I change my oil and oil filter? (maybe at 4000 miles?)

Also bike came with stock tires and I wanted to check how much air pressure I need ?

Thank you! :bow

·
Avid Enthusiast
7,408 Posts
If you don't know when it was last done I'd say do it now to play it safe. The recommended tire pressure should be on a sticker on the swing arm, left side.

·
Happy go Lucky Guy
396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Roger Roger, are there any online guides towards helping me change my oil ? (complete noob)
btw mine is also Charcoal Gray =)

·
what?
906 Posts
did the bike come with a users manual? There's a lot of good information in there...

·
Happy go Lucky Guy
396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
did the bike come with a users manual? There's a lot of good information in there...
Awesome Thanks! what else should I do besides an Oil change ??
(tires are good)
Thank you

·
R is for respect!
1,623 Posts
lube the chain and check to see if it needs adjustment

·
Happy go Lucky Guy
396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
lube the chain and check to see if it needs adjustment
How would I determine if it needs adjustment ?
and may I just lube the chain every certain other time just to make sure ?

Thank you!

·
My R6 has returned!!
1,930 Posts
oil change is straight forward - and easy to eff up.
Run the bike for a few minutes before changing the oil. If you don't know what in there (mineral, synth, semi etc) it's good to use oil cleaner first, then run the engine for a few minutes. Careful when you drain, oil is hot now.