Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning, all.

Just thought I'd make an intro to the community. I've been browsing these forms for weeks now and I figured I should just sign up and join in!

A little about myself: I've been riding bikes off and on since about 2004. I took a good long break after I had my son in 2010 since the wife had an abnormal fear of motorcycles in general.

Fast forward 8 years, I see a good friend is selling his '14 CBR1000RR for a stupid price and I buy it without permission. After a few nights on the couch the wife says "buy me a lid and jacket so I can come". After a few rides she says "I don't feel in control, let's buy me a bike". And she's hooked now!

Last year I picked up the green ZX6R in my avatar, fixed, painted and tracked it, since I didn't want to risk my minty condition CBR on the track anymore. It was fun, but older and I wanted an upgrade.

A friend crashed her '08 R6 in July and asked if I wanted to buy it from the insurance company for a great price. She rode it like a lady and didn't ever bag it. So here I am, looking for track parts and advice on this mechanically sound machine!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Good question. Mine was written off as vandalized for a 1 inch hole in the front fairing and a dent in the fuel tank. May well have been intentional because there’s not a scratch on the bike otherwise, 5200 miles. I’m stumped. But happy 💪🏿

·
LHRB
106 Posts
Nice, well if nothing is busted. What is your build theme?

You said track specific, so start by figuring out if you want to remove the lights, mirrors, and get track body work.

New tires

New wheels?

Suspension upgrades?

Remove those rear pegs

Aftermarket exhaust and dyno tune the engine?

Upgrade the braking system?

Endless...

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
What was damaged that the insurance company is writing it off?