Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys, please no flames here, I am just looking for some help. Ok well i'm 15 years old right now but my b-day is in may. I want to get my m1 and a bike when I turn 16. My delema is that I really want to ride but I have no riding experience what so ever and i dont want to start off buying some ugly old bike to learn on. I originaly wanted a R1 but soon found out that it was to powerfull for me so I fell in love with the R6. Would this be alright for me? Another problem I have is that I want to ride soo badly but then I think of all the horrible stories I hear of people getting killed or seriously injured and having witnessed a fatal bike colision myself isn't very reasuring. And I think, is it really worth the risk? But then I really have no clue on how risky it is or what risks are involved, so if anyone could give me some insight toward this I would really appreciate it.
Thank you.

Nick

·
Registered
846 Posts
Welcome...
My advice to you would be first and foremost take the Basic Riders course... That always helps. I think if you respect your 6, you should be fine, but it's been said a million times... The second you don't respect your bike, it'll kill you. I've been down myself, as I'm sure most people around here have been. You've got to remember that people in cars are out to kill us riders. I would suggest starting on something a little less crazy than a 600 sportbike, simply becausae there's so much power there, that it's hard not to fool around. I'm 25 and been riding about 10 years, and I'm still in awe of the power of my 6. As long as you're careful, and learn all you can, you should be fine. My .02 cents.
Later
Steve

·
Registered
134 Posts
welchsm said it man... just respect your bike... i am 21 and this is my first bike and first time ever riding a bike was my R6... It has more power than you can ever imagine...