Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys how's it going, I'm hopefully going to get a bike pretty soon. I'm 18 5'11 155. I'm a college student studying to be an Emt right now and aspire to be a Paramedic /Firefighter. I took the msf course in November I scored the highest in the class with 0 riding experience. I asked the MSF instructor if I could start on an r6 as long as I started slow (witch I plane to considering what I've seen in the field of study). I'm wondering what you guys think? It's either between a ninja 300/ sv650sf/ or 06- r6. All the same on insurance and go for the same price on craigslist. This is the r6 I'm looking at. Kbb says it's worth 4.5k. Is it a good deal? And what about as a first bike? Thanks for the responses and reading this and helping me out.

Here's the bike
http://sandiego.craigslist.org/nsd/mcy/4389958767.html

·
Boom
65 Posts
Welcome!

$6000 is way too expensive for that bike, you should be able to find a similar bike for more like $4000. KBB isn't very good for motorcycles. R6 is dangerous as a first bike, but lots of people do it.

·
Newb
94 Posts
I got my '07 R6 for $5k just the other day.

And I wouldn't recommend it as a first bike. SV would be a better choice.
But I started on a cbr600rr. I still think I'd be a better rider if I started on something smaller.

Good luck with the career choice! I was EMT full time and went to college for medic. By the time I was done with medic class I was so is a way burnt out. Fire medic is the way to go though! No damn transports.

·
Registered
88 Posts