Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. Well I am new to the whole street bike thing, and looking for a bike. I dont have any prior experience with streetbikes, but Ive races dirtbikes for about 10 years and got my first when I was 4. I recently sold my yz125 and my yzf250 so that gives me about 5 grand to put down on a new bike, and I was definetely leaning towards the r6. I've rode yammie all my life and Ive always been kinda biased.. But yeah i was just looking for some input on them like pros and cons etc. Pretty much the only complaint Ive heard about them is they dont have too much grunt down low. So what do yall think of your r6? Good starter bike or is there another better middle class bike out there? Im 6'3 by the way so a bike that can suit a tall rider is a must!! Any input appreciated!:YEA

·
Registered
408 Posts
Dude I would go with the R6 there will be a lot of people that will tell you that its not a good starter bike and it may not be but as long as you can ride within your limits it will be fine. Also they did cut down on some of the lower lag in the 08 so you should go for those for sure. from what I understand the R6 is best for taller riders.

·
Registered
1,477 Posts
well lot of people gonna tell you to get a R6, I'm 6'3" too and i feel like i fit alot better on an R1! You definetely have riding experience so as long as you mindful of what your doing you could learn alot on a liter bike. An R6 will definetely get you down the road quickly! I went with the R6 for monetary reasons otherwise i would have been all up in an R1 so now everyone can flame me too but thats my opinion

oh don't show off thats what ****s people

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6