Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

complete newb question...... but IM changing the oil on my R6 and I'm not changing the oil filter..... so when I drain the oil out.... do I need to take off the oil filter before I fill it with new oil or just leave it on.... the main reason im not changing the oil filter is because I completely suck mechanically and the bike is now storaged and I need to change the oil but am scared of taking the kickstand shift rod bolt off.......

in other words... can i just change the oil on my bike and not take oil filter off ever???... and it will be fine right.... once the new season comes I will get the first service done where a new filter is put in after another 200 miles.

thanks a bunch guys.

J

·
Registered
35 Posts
No such thing as a dumb question. You will eventually need to change the filter but for now drain the oil and simply fill it up according to specs. Have the dealer change the filter when the season starts again. You should really change both each time you "do the oil" but it is okay to skip it in this case since you're really not riding it right now anyway.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
also guys..... im trying to change the oil and the drain plug wont open... i guess im the first one opening the plug since it was put on from the factory????? what to do... or dont tell me im opening the wrong one.... im opening a silver color bolt right at the bottom ... i stole this pic from someone else.... im assuming im opening the right bolt right???

Im using a basic ratchet and 17mm socket.... any suggestions?

·
My R6 eats yours!!!
369 Posts
Turn to the left!!! :lmao Just Kidding ya. You might try to spray some wd-40 or a penitrating oil spray to losssen it up. They are put on by a air ratchet. Just try a little more elbow grease on it. Good luck

·
Vrooom on a Yamaha
358 Posts