Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
08 Yamaha R6
3,057 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I changed the oil on my 08 R6 for the first time, and I am not a newbie to changing oil, but I seem to have an issue and I am wondering if anyone else has seen this. Any way after the oil change I let the bike run a bit with no issues then I shut it down let it set a bit checked oil level which is perfect. So I took the bike a ride, and about a half mile down the road the oil light came on so I pulled over right away, and the oil light turned off before I shutdown the bike, so I continued to ride with no issues. Check everything out when I got home, and oil level still good no oil leaking. So the next day I had the same issue light came on for a minute this time I shutdown the bike, and started it back up, and the light went off, and never came back on. Then same thing today just came on and then went off after just a second. I went with amsoil 10W-40, and a K&N filter. I am just thinking about changing the oil again tomorrow just to see what happens with things. If anyone has ever seen this before I would love some help. I know if the oil level was low there is a possibility of this happening, but the oil level is good I have checked several different times.

·
Registered
1,379 Posts
also, im interested in your wheels on ebay. these are the exact same for the 07 r6 correct?? i need a second set to throw some track tires on

·
08 Yamaha R6
3,057 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have the bike up on front and rear stands when I am checking the oil, so I don't think that it is the oil level. As for the rims they are the same as the 07 I actually have 07 rims on my 08.

·
08 Yamaha R6
3,057 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
did you figure out the problem? i am having a similar issue

I actually did, but I am not sure what fixed it. I just backed off the filter, and put it back on then I put about a 1/4 of a quart of oil in. Seemed to fix my issue.

·