Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
I hate you Turn 4!
1,890 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well Oct 2nd was my last track day. And it was a blast. After two instructor groups I felt good enough on the bike and knew the line well enough to go it alone. Well I ended up getting my knee down twice and it freaked the hell out of me both times. I didn't think I was far enough over when it happened. What tips or trick do you guys have for judging when you’re far enough to put your knee down? And how do you react to it? I'm a newbie on the track and now just waiting till next year. :(

·
OMRRA #79
1,393 Posts
My biggest tip is to just stop thinking about it! If your are just out trying to get a knee down and thats what your are thinking about thats a recipe for disaster! You have way to many things to think about to be worried about trying to get off the bike or OVER lean into a corner. Just do what feals natural and all of a sudden you wont be able to get your knee off the ground and you will be pissed at the fact your are having to buy knee pucks every trackday!

·
I hate you Turn 4!
1,890 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thats the thing I wasn't thinking about it and when it did happen it freaked the hell out of me because I wasn't ready for it and almost lost the bike both times due to not being prepared for it. I'm not trying to get my knee down just trying to get smoother and faster every time I'm out. Just trying to learn how to adjust to the feeling of when it happens and trick to deal with it when it does from other track guys.

·
OMRRA #79
1,393 Posts
You will definatly get use to it the more it happens. I also found myself using it as a crutch as my riding got better and faster! I still keep my knee on the ground way more then I should, it just seems to keep my mind at ease knowing exactly where the lean angle of my bike is through whole corner.

·
Registered
1,940 Posts