Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So here is my master plan. After years of riding the old 1982 Yamaha Vision 550 (cool old bike, look it up) Being a poor college student, I cannot afford a new, or even used R6 in good shape. So my plan is to find an R6 with some rashed plastics, but otherwise in great shape. Then...
- discard plasics
-clean up visible wiring and hose routing
-add handle bar risers and handle bars
-slap on a bikini type fairing

Viola, R6 holigan bike

I mean honestly, look at how beautiful that frame and engine are...

http://www.daidegas.it/yamaha_2003.htm

It is a shame to cover such a work of art up...

My questions are,

Has anybody seen this done/ have pictures of something of this nature.

Also, will the R-6 bring the front wheel up with out clutching/bouncing etc..
(sounds like a squidish question, and the fact that a bike will power wheelie is not going to detemine the bike I go with, but lets be real here... a bike that will power-wheelie will be alot more fun to ride...)

(

·
Registered
524 Posts
Sounds like a nice plan. Make sure you share pics if you go forward with it. To answer the power wheelie question, it will power wheelie in first and second (will get the front up a tiny bit in third). No bouncing, no clutch. I'm talking about the 2004. I've never ridden an R6 from another year so I can't tell you what the performance differences are.

·
Registered
487 Posts
I've got an 02 and i cant get er up unless im banging from first to second or bouncing/clutching it...have fun though man and send pics when complete!

:cheers

·
Registered
83 Posts
that would look hella funky on the road.........first gear is easy to lift with just raw power, second is a littler harder without the clutch I find......or im just a wussy which can be a good thing I guess stop me from looping it

·
Registered
353 Posts