Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new here... and have a question for some of you veteran R6 owners!

I am thinking about buying an 04 R1... the R1 forum members think I should get an R6 or a GSXr 750 rather than the R1. I ride an FZR600 and an RD350... I have about 2 years of riding experience, (and a few) open track runs at Seattle International Raceway w/ the FZR. R1 owners think I need more experience...

Do you guys think an R1 would be to big of a jump? Do any of you wish you got the R1 instead of the R6? Is the R6 that much faster than my FZR??? I like the R6 too! ...but I already own a 600cc! What do you guys think :?:

·
Registered
836 Posts
It all depends on you. What type of riding do you do. Cruising around the city, or hitting the canyons/track. Do you have the maturity and the smooth throttle hand to safely ride the R1?

The R6 IS that much faster than your FZR. I think the Fizzer makes around 80 HP, the R6 is over 100.

Personally I think the R1 is overkill. I have been able to pass a few of them on the track really easily. I can get on the gas harder and earlier than they can in corners without highsiding myself into next week. I spin the rear on the 6 enough as it is.

It doesn't sound like you are getting abike to just cruise around and impress the chicks... so get a bike that you will enjoy riding the most.

·
max speed
242 Posts
If I were you I would get an R6 and just do some mods to it with the extra money you would save from not buying an 04 R1.

-sprockets
-full exhaust
-power commander
-slide stops
-velosity stacks

Once you are used to the bike and add these parts with proper tuning you will be way more confident then on an R1 and most likely faster in any situation besides flat out on a long straight. :jump

·
Banned
4,021 Posts