Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, this is my first time on this forum.

Im having some issues with my Yamaha R6 (2005) after winter storage, everything worked fine last summer. The motorcycle was placed on the back of a car trailer with roof for about 5 months. I topped of the fuel tank with fresh gasoline before storage, but did not disconnect the battery. When i took it out of storage a few weeks ago the battery was flat, but has since been removed from the bike and charged fully.

When getting ready for my first trip i noticed some issues with the idle. It starts at around 1000 RPM, but slowly increases as the engine heats up. When the engine is at operating temperature the idle can reach has high as 4000 RPM, this problem is consistent.
Everything else seems to be working fine, and the bike is running as it should during normal driving, but the rpm wont go under ~4000 RPM, which obviously is causing some issues during creep driving and engine breaking.

So far i have replaced the gasoline with fresh one, and checked the on-board diagnostics (which had no fault codes). The throttle position sensor is reporting values between 15 and 93, which should be fine. I have also tried spraying some start-gas around the vacuum tubes, which does not alter the idle speed.

Have anyone else experienced simular issues, or have some troubleshooting suggestions?

·
Registered
115 Posts
So far i have replaced the gasoline with fresh one, and checked the on-board diagnostics (which had no fault codes). The throttle position sensor is reporting values between 15 and 93, which should be fine. I have also tried spraying some start-gas around the vacuum tubes, which does not alter the idle speed.

Have anyone else experienced simular issues, or have some troubleshooting suggestions?