Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:confused:Ok... So I know this topic has probably been posted about 1000 times... but I want to ask it in reference to my exact situation. I am looking at buying either an 08 R6 or an 08 R6S as my starter bike but from what I hear this isnt the best idea. I have been riding around on a friends Ninja 250 for about 2 months now and I want to buy my own bike. I have had dirtbikes growing up (I know there not the same!). Also to add... I am 28 years old, responsible, and absolutley no plans of stunt riding (props for the people that do though, just not for me). Is this a bad decision for a bike??? :confused:

·
Registered
107 Posts
R6 is a great starter bike and also a bike for life. Its great because it is so lite and not hard to handle, but there will be some insane power that you've never felt before riding a dirtbike or a 250 street bike. One day you'll master it, but always respect the bike, it does 170 MPH and can kill you at anytime.

·
Registered
52 Posts
I don't see why not. I too grew up on dirt bikes. Raced flat track for most of my life(am 50 now). There are some really good road racers that used to race flattrack. I got my R6 in May, took it easy while learning to ride. Took me a month to lose the chicken strips. Having a ball riding twisties on the way to work everyday. The R6 is probably the best handling bike out there. So, in my opinion, it's not a bad choice, just be careful because it's probably a lot more powerful than that Ninja 250 you've been riding. Most of the power comes on at around 10,000 rpm and comes on hard, especially in the lower gears. Good luck and have fun.

·
Registered
192 Posts