Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My name is billy and I’m 16 turn 17 in a couple months and for my birthday I’ve been saving to get a 16 r6 anniversary that’s for sale in my city. I’ve been riding a ktm duke 390 since I got my permit at 14 and have about 3000 miles on it I have my parents on board as long as I pay for the bike but I just want opinions from people with more experience or to see if there is a better option than an r6 cause I’ve read about the power band and all of that.I have little experience on highways cause I spent most the time in the city.

·
Registered
284 Posts
I find the R6 mildly tedious in the commute stop and go, good at 40mph, starting to be very nice at 60mph and so on. Particularly below 20mph or so control over rpm and speed is delicate because there isn't much power and the engine is easily stalled. Handling-wise its nice and light, steers well, suspension does a great job- all that is relevant over 40mph. So its not well-suited for poking around in a city, but fantastic on highways. My old Bandit was good in the slow traffic grind- it had quite a bit more low end torque and HP so stop and go was easier than the R6 while lugging around in 1st/2nd in traffic, but the R6 is another world altogether once things are moving. If you get an R6 I think you will be drawn to the highways like a nail to a magnet :)

·
YZFR6... ooodles of HP
1,204 Posts
Get an msf beginner course under your belt to instill real world hazards responsesl in your brain.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Billy,