Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, im here for opinions about getting an R6.

I am not a newbie on riding motorcycles but its been 10yrs seen ive ridden in one. Im from southeast asia and moved to north america.

i learned to ride when i was about grade 4 on a 100cc Yamaha Force1(4 speed, no clutch). Then ride on a honda TMX 155cc(4 speed, with clutch).

i was young and dumb at 14yrs of age and i got into an accident(mild scratches). So i left riding motorcycles behind.

now at 25 ive driven cars and semi trucks. So my question is, is it ok to start riding on a 600cc.

it is only for daily commute to work and back and off days drive around.
I will be riding at the speed limit as i cant afford tickets, and i care for my life as I have my own family to raise now.

Im considering the R3 as it is more affordable but i like the looks of R6 better.
Long post , thanks everyone.

·
YZFR6... ooodles of HP
997 Posts
Well it has real potential to tease out more speed then is actually prudent for the road conditions. This can allow for the various improper speed related accidents. Obviously some can ride a big, powerful motorcycle with the basic controls experience without dieing or totaling the bike. Then some can't because they are "squids." No shirt, flip flops or barefoot, and doing dumb stuff giving us a bad rap like how loud ass harley pipes make people assume noise means speed.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Short answer is yes, you absolutely can start riding on a 600cc. The 250/300cc bikes are probably more suitable in every way, but there's not much that's radically different below 5-8k RPM, at least to the point where it's possible for use as a starter bike.