Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I just did a tire change on my front and rear wheels, but since putting on the new ones and reattaching everything I feel like my front brakes have less bite to them. I am not quite sure what would cause this and am looking for any tips or thoughts anyone may have.

What I did to put the wheel back in was this:
If viewing from the front of the bike
1. Slide axel through
2. Torque axel pinch bolts on the left side
3. Torque axel nut to specs
4. Torque axel pinch bolts on the right side
5. Put both brake calipers over the rotors
6. Move the wheel, squeeze the brakes several times
7. While squeezing the brakes, torqued the calipers into place

There is great brake pressure in the lever and it can stop the bike, but it just feels like it doesn't bite as hard as it used to. I feel like I need to squeeze harder on normal cruising stops at a red light. This is my first time changing the front myself. Is this normal for the calipers to seem this way in the beginning after a change? Does it just need some time to get used to its ever so slightly new position on the rotor? Thanks.

· "The Dude abides .. "
4,695 Posts
it could be nothing.. but i do things in a different order.
Put the axle through the wheel.
Put the calipers on BEFORE you tighten any axle bolts or the large nut.
Now snug up the axle nut to pull the axle all the way through.
Spin the wheel and jam the front brake a few times. This centers the left fork tube.
Now tighten left/right fork tube pinch bolts. Don't go crazy ! but do each a couple times. 16ft lb
finish by tightening the large axle nut.

· Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks melk-man. I just tried your procedure, but it doesn't seem to be of any difference.