Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
My R6 ate me
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been fortunate up to this point to not have to deal with the rain on the track but I know it's coming eventually. How do most of the orgs deal with rain as far as running the day? And when it does happen what do you change tips tricks. knowledge is something I lack as I'm a newb to the track scene And don't wanna be overwhelmed when it happens

·
My R6 eats you.
7,565 Posts
If it's just rain, trackday orgs run as scheduled. When it's wet you must be smooth on the gas, and avoid trail braking. Use rain-x or an anti-fog spray on your visor and duct tape a shield over your nose to deflect your breath downward out of your helmet to avoid fogging up.

The biggest issues I had during my first rain race was with visibility, nothing bike related.

·
Registered
507 Posts
Spare set of rims = key investment. Race events will run rain or shine..... even though I didnt use mine last weekend, it was a split decision about 15mns before the race to keep my DOTs on. If I swapped them before with 1 set of rims, I would have been SOL.

Careful with buying used sets.... Rain tires may LOOK like they have a lot of tread left, but the main jagged edges have to be as intact as possible. If the short/start edge of the tread is rounded/smooth = no good or not much life left. The sharp edges make sure that the water is channeled properly.

With a good set of rains, you can run reasonably hard as long as you're smooth.

PS: aim for the puddles :)

·
"The Dude abides .. "
4,719 Posts
will expand on what Azim says above, and for SURE, ideally you would like a spare set of wheels with rain tires mounted up. If that isn't for you, then just deal with riding DOT tires on a wet track but it is NOT as fun or as safe. If there is any puddles, you pretty much need to not ride without rain tires. TRUE rain race tires.