Yamaha R6 Forum: YZF-R6 Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I recently got a 2006 R6 (US spec). I don't know the bike's previous history but the person I bought it from got it 3 months ago and rode it once, they crashed and completely destroyed the left side fairings. The radiator took a small knock as well and the left side radiator fan doesn't work, other than that, the bike has a few lights that don't work, a leaking brake fluid reservoir and bent rider pegs but it still runs like a beast and handles perfectly.

I'm a little concerned about this rattling noise that it's developed, it sounds like valves or rockers but I'm not entirely sure as I'm an electric forklift technician so I haven't got a huge amount of experience with petrol engines.

Anyone know what this noise might be? I tried attaching a video that I took but it says the file doesn't have an allowed extension, weird, it's an mp4 file so it should work.

There's no misfire but the bike doesn't like to crank over sometimes, I've got to blip the throttle to get it to start and then rev it a little otherwise it dies.
Tire Wheel Fuel tank Vehicle Sky

This is a photo of the fairing damage.

·
Registered
3,148 Posts
Ewwww that doesn't sound good at all... don't start that ting again until you take it apart to diagnose.

Most optimistic possibility is that the noise is clutch related.

Check to make sure the shifter mechanism hasn't slipped on the splines and is holding the shifter partially dis/engaged.

Engine off, does it behave as expected when shifting through gears?
DOes the clutch/transmission stop you in first gear?
Clutch held in, cranking started, clutch partly released, does the starter motor move the bike?

Run a compression test to compare all the cylinders first.

Next pull the clutch cover off and inspect the clutch basket.

Otherwise you're going to have to pull the timing chain and valve covers off at a minimum.